Chamber announces annual award finalists

  • January 2017
  • |
  • Durango Herald

The Durango Chamber of Commerce has announced the finalists for the annual Durango Rocks! awards.

The awards honor businesses and individuals for their accomplishments and contributions to the community.

“It’s the Academy Awards of Durango,” said Jack Llewellyn, executive director of the Chamber.

Finalists are selected by a committee of 15 people that discuss the nominations and rank them, Llewellyn said. The Chamber accepts nominations throughout the year.

There is a slight change in the categories this year.

After about five years on hiatus, the Green Business Leadership Awards will be presented at the event in partnership with the Green Business Roundtable.

The awards will be presented at 5:30 p.m. Jan. 19 at the Community Concert Hall.

Tickets are $30 and available at, the Welcome Center on Main Avenue and

The finalists are:

Citizen of the YearTom Compton, Hesperus rancher and an elected director of La Plata Electric Association

Meredith Mapel, vice president of Coca-Cola of Durango-Farmington

Steve Short, former president and CEO of the First National Bank of Durango and a member of the Board of Trustees for Fort Lewis College

Business of the Year

Seasons Rotisserie & Grill

Serious Texas BBQ

Zia Taqueria

Small Business of the Year

Evenings Porch Assisted Living

Matlock Furniture


Nonprofit of the Year

Axis Health Systems

Durango Adult Education Center

Know Your Dough

Entrepreneur of the Year

Mark Thompson, founder of Phoenix Recycling

Tim Turner, founder of Zia Taqueria

Spirit of Durango

Black Bear Carpet Cleaning

Four Leaves Winery

Pura Vida Natural Healthcare

“Bill Mashaw” Volunteer of the Year

Ryan Lowe

Laura McKinney

Pam Miles

Green Business Leadership Award

Alpine Bank

Cream Bean Berry

Mantell-Hecathorn Builders